Laura Pallas - Emergency!Laura Pallas - Emergency! Gérard Manset - Inédits Et Nouveaux Mixages 1992Gérard Manset - Inédits Et Nouveaux Mixages 1992 Sidney Bechet - Sidney Bechet And The Blues Singers – Volume II - 1923-25 ClassicsSidney Bechet - Sidney Bechet And The Blues Singers – Volume II - 1923-25 Classics Manowar - manowarManowar - manowar Howlin' Wolf - Live And Cookin' At Alice's RevisitedHowlin' Wolf - Live And Cookin' At Alice's Revisited Gigliola Cinquetti - Napoli, Fortuna MiaGigliola Cinquetti - Napoli, Fortuna Mia Satira - El Mundo De Los SueñosSatira - El Mundo De Los Sueños Plasmec & RU 486 - Fly With MePlasmec & RU 486 - Fly With Me
» » Oxbow - Thin Black Duke
Oxbow - Thin Black Duke mp3 flac download

Oxbow - Thin Black Duke mp3 flac download

Thin Black Duke
Noise, Avantgarde
MP3 archive size:
1678 mb
FLAC archive size:
1534 mb
Other formats:

Thin Black Duke by Oxbow, released 19 May 2017 1. Cold & Well-Lit Place 2. Ecce Homo 3. A Gentleman’s Gentleman 4. Letter of Note 5. Host 6. The Upper 7. Other People 8. The Finished Line Over the 30 years of Oxbow’s operations, no one has come comfortably close to classifying the Bay Area group. This could arguably be the result of Oxbow’s ongoing evolution, but accurately describing any particular phase of the groups’ seven-album career is no easier than describing the broader metamorphic arc of their creative path.

Thin Black Duke is the seventh studio album by American experimental rock band Oxbow. It was released on May 5, 2017 through Hydra Head Records.

Several months after Oxbow released their sixth album, 2007’s The Narcotic Story, frontman Eugene S. Robinson wrote a book about beating people up. It’s called Fight: Everything You Ever Wanted to Know About Ass-Kicking but Were Afraid You’d Get Your Ass Kicked for Asking, and it offers tips for achieving what Robinson refers to as Zen and the Art of Kick Assertainment, the ecstasy of sweet aches and bloody noses.

Thin Black Duke" is the seventh studio album by avant-rock group Oxbow, issued by Hydra Head Records in 2017 on vinyl, cd and digital. Vinyl pressings: 1st pressing of 1500 copies:.

Thin Black Duke isn’t their finest album – for my money, that’d have to be 1995’s Steve Albini-produced Let Me Be A Woman – but it’s still one of the most thrilling, galvanising records I’ve heard in recent months. 10 years after "The Narcotic Story", Oxbow has not aged, even though the guys are fifty years old. Oxbow has all it takes for his career to be a shocking sound experience: to keep his music safe from the blues, nothing is heavier than rock, but especially for vocal experiments of Eugene S. Robinson. Well, with "Thin Black Duke", in 2017, what is certain is that these guys from San Francisco have not smoothed their music, nor lost in creativity. A middle-aged Oxbow, in fact,.

Where San Francisco’s Oxbow differ from the above examples is that while Thin Black Duke, their seventh album since forming in 1988, is a record they are highly unlikely ever to eclipse, if there is a group who could defy such colossal odds then, on this evidence, it is Oxbow. They sound equally like a band that has discussed and agreed upon every moment of every song and one that barely knows what note comes next.

Thin Black Duke is, while unpredictable and complicated, some distance from the more unhinged experimentation of the band’s past. Leadoff track Cold And Well-Lit Place, for instance, sounds less like peak-era Amphetamine Reptile label bands than it does recent Afghan Whigs, interrupted occasionally by the string climax from The Beatles’ A Day in the Life. The majestic Other People stacks breathtaking layers of strings and horns over the group’s noir blues, making for something unexpectedly beautiful amid their more cacophonous rock numbers. And Host is Oxbow at their most approachable.


A1 Cold & Well-Lit Place
A2 Ecce Homo
A3 A Gentleman's Gentleman
A4 Letter Of Note
B1 Host
B2 The Upper
B3 Other People
B4 The Finished Line

Companies, etc.

  • Recorded At – 25th Street Recording, Oakland, CA
  • Mixed At – Sunset Sound
  • Recorded At – Ruminator Audio
  • Published By – Diorite Music
  • Published By – CFY Music


  • Art Direction – Oxbow
  • Artwork [Art], Design – Aaron Turner
  • Band [Oxbow], Bass – Dan Adams
  • Band [Oxbow], Drums, Percussion – Greg Davis
  • Band [Oxbow], Guitar, Keyboards, Voice – Niko Wenner
  • Band [Oxbow], Voice – Eugene Robinson
  • Booking [Europe] –*, Vincent Royers
  • Booking [US] – Erik Jarvis,*
  • Composed By [Orchestra], Arranged By [Orchestra] – Niko Wenner
  • Conductor [Orchestra] – Marco d'Ambrosio*
  • Design [Gold Leaf] – Céline Chrétien
  • Engineer [Second] – Scott Bergstrom
  • Engineer, Mixed By – Joe Chiccarelli
  • Guitar [Additional] – Philippe Thiphaine (tracks: A1, A2)
  • Mastered By – Golden Mastering
  • Mastered By [LP] – John Golden
  • Music By, Lyrics By – Robinson*, Wenner*
  • Oboe – Kyle Bruckmann (tracks: A4, B3, B4)
  • Producer – Joe Chiccarelli, Niko Wenner
  • Written-By [Songs By] – Oxbow


[Circular sticker on shrink:]
Oxbow "Thin Black Duke" [Hype text] Mastered For Vinyl By Golden Mastering, Housed In Deluxe Letter Pressed Jackets,
Edition Of 1500 Copies [Barcode] HH666-228

900/1500 copies have been pressed for this black vinyl edition.
Includes a plain white inner sleeve and a 12"x12" carboard sheet with lyrics and credits.

[Additional credits:]

Oxbow Orchestra Eternal
A 16-part brass and strings Ensemble

25th Street Recording Oakland, California
Sunset Sound Hollywood: Additional Mixing
Ruminator Audio San Francisco: Additional Guitar/Keyboard Recording, Song Arrangement
Consultation, Monte Vallier

Golden Mastering Ventura, California: LP, John Golden
The Lodge Mastering New York: Digital, Emily Lazar

Diorite Music BMI/2017
CFY Music BMI/2017

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Barcode (Text on sticker): 6 34457 76721 8
  • Barcode (String): 634457767218
  • Matrix / Runout (Runout, side A, hand-etched): HH 777-228-A MUSCLED + TIGT + IT'S ALWAYS NIGHT. 26623.1..
  • Matrix / Runout (Runout, side B, hand-etched): HH-777-228-B I KNOW. I KNOW. 26623.2
  • Matrix / Runout (Runout, side A & B, stamped): GOLDEN
  • Rights Society: BMI
  • Other (On sticker): HH666-228

Other versions

Category Artist Title (Format) Label Category Country Year
HH777-228, HH777-228CD, HHR228 CD Oxbow Thin Black Duke ‎(8xFile, MP3, Album, 320) Hydra Head Records, Hydra Head Records, Hydra Head Records HH777-228, HH777-228CD, HHR228 CD 2017
HH777-228 Oxbow Thin Black Duke ‎(LP, Album, Ltd, Red) Hydra Head Records HH777-228 US 2017
HH777-228, HH777-228CD, HHR228 CD Oxbow Thin Black Duke ‎(CD, Album) Hydra Head Records, Hydra Head Records, Hydra Head Records HH777-228, HH777-228CD, HHR228 CD USA & Europe 2017
HH777-228 Oxbow Thin Black Duke ‎(LP, Album, Ltd, Sec) Hydra Head Records HH777-228 US 2017
HH777-228 Oxbow Thin Black Duke ‎(LP, Ltd, Cle) Hydra Head Records HH777-228 US 2017